Chatbot Laws Which laws apply?

Nevada / Mental health

AB 406

Makes various changes relating to health

In effectSince June 5, 2025

Chatbot Laws · verified Oct. 21, 2026

AI providers may not claim their systems can give professional mental or behavioral health care or are therapists or counselors, and may not offer AI programmed to provide such care. Public schools may not use AI to do school counselor, psychologist or social worker mental-health work. Civil penalty up to $15,000 per violation.

Who must comply

AI providers (anyone who operates or provides an AI system) for Sec. 7; licensed mental and behavioral health providers for Sec. 8; public schools including charter schools for Sec. 2. Self-help materials and provider administrative-support tools are excepted.

What it requires

Therapy and licensed titlesAI provider may not represent that an AI system can provide professional mental or behavioral health care or is a therapist, counselor, psychiatrist or doctor, nor make available an AI system specifically programmed to provide such care. Licensed providers may not use AI in connection with providing care directly to a patient, but may use it for administrative support.NRS 433.567(1)-(3), (6); NRS 629.610(1)-(2)
Other dutiesPublic schools may not use AI to perform the mental-health functions of school counselors, school psychologists or school social workers; the Department of Education must develop a policy on permitted AI use.NRS 391.297

Enforcement

Enforced byDivision of Public and Behavioral Health, Department of Human Services (investigates and sues) and Licensing boards (for providers under NRS 629.610)NRS 433.567(4)-(5); NRS 629.610(5)
Private lawsuitsNo
PenaltiesCivil penalty of up to $15,000 per violation of Sec. 7(1), (2) or (3), deposited in the State General Fund. A provider violating Sec. 8 commits unprofessional conduct subject to board discipline.

Key dates

  1. Regulations and preparatory tasks
  2. All other purposes

Sources

  1. AB 406 Enrolled, Nevada Legislature Supports: All provisions, sections, penalties, Sec. 10 effective dates.
  2. AB 406 overview and bill history, NELIS Supports: delivered to Governor June 1, 2025; approved June 5, 2025; Chapter 283; effective dates.
  3. Bills Signed by the Governor, 83rd Session, NELIS Supports: Chapter 283 and the June 5, 2025 effective date of Sec. 10.
  4. NRS chapter 433 Supports: codified as NRS 433.567; 'Division' means the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NRS 433.084) of the Department of Human Services (NRS 433.064).

Questions

When does Nevada AB 406 take effect?

June 5, 2025: Regulations and preparatory tasks. July 1, 2025: All other purposes. It is in effect as of November 4, 2026.

Who does Nevada AB 406 apply to?

AI providers (anyone who operates or provides an AI system) for Sec. 7; licensed mental and behavioral health providers for Sec. 8; public schools including charter schools for Sec. 2. Self-help materials and provider administrative-support tools are excepted.

Who enforces Nevada AB 406?

Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Department of Human Services (investigates and sues) and Licensing boards (for providers under NRS 629.610). Penalties: Civil penalty of up to $15,000 per violation of Sec. 7(1), (2) or (3), deposited in the State General Fund. A provider violating Sec. 8 commits unprofessional conduct subject to board discipline.

Can people sue under Nevada AB 406?

No. It does not create a private right to sue; enforcement is by Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Department of Human Services (investigates and sues) and Licensing boards (for providers under NRS 629.610).